• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

canon pinions on smaller size walthams "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I've been working on Walthams size 0 and size 6 for several years now. It seems that after a thorough cleaning the canon pinion is loose and the hands don't move properly. I've tried different ways of tightening them but, they usually crack of loosen up again. I've been using a lock tight that works well but don't know for how long it will hold. I would appreciate any other ideas from members that have solved this problem. Thanks Bill

Posts: 103 | Location: Missouri in the USA | Registered: August 02, 2008
IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted

Bill,

Stop right there Eek my friend!

In order to function the cannon pinion MUST be able to, for want of a better term, "slip" and the use of anything like you are contemplating will not only cause additional problems but would most likely overly complicate your existing situation. See the "John D. Duvall's "HELPING HAND TUTORIALS" and research previous posts with an IHC Find-Or-Search for Cannon Pinion" (correct spelling as well as for "canon pinion" which is an often-used incorrect spelling) or consult any Watchmaking Instructional Book for details on proper adjustment which is not very difficult. Be certain there is no oil that might be causing your problem, which is apparently the issue of an over-abundance of cannon pinion slippage.

Some of the "old-timers" corrected this issue by, get this Roll Eyes winding a piece of human hair around the pinion and then installing the cannon pinion. Although not sound service procedure it apparently worked as this is a story I have heard many times and I have found remnants of hair in that position on some of the movements I have disassembled.

Let's hear what others including those with more experience than I have to say.

Lindell

Wink