Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Is it Real or is it Melamine? "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Picture of Tom Allerding
posted
Hi,

I have a 992B with a S/N C467xxx (circa 1957). I'm new to this, and would appreciate some opinions on the dial and hands. (I can't post images, so you'll have to do with prose.)

The dial has arabic numerals (not the boxcar type) and Montgomery figures (in black, with every 5 mins in red). The sub-seconds bit covers over half of the 5 and 7. It is double sunk, but the edges between the plates curve into each other without a sharp step. There is also a faint line of gold coloration along the rim of the sub-seconds dial. The dial is marked Hamilton Railway Special.

The hour and minute hands are spade shaped and black. The seconds hand is the same shape, but is dark blue when viewed from the side.

The dial, case (10 K RGP with Hamilton markings) and movement are all in very nice shape.

At first, I thought the dial might be a reproduction (especially since the seconds hand is a different color). After reading some posts on this site, I now wonder if it's melamine.

Is the dial appropriate for this watch? If hands have been replaced, which ones? Thanks in advance for your help.

TJ

Posts: 139 | Location: Spokane, Washington USA | Registered: August 16, 2005
posted
Hello and Welcome.....

Do you have the capability to take a digital image?

Do you have the capability to remove the dial?

the 'gold circle' you mention throws me...

it is 'possible' your second hand is a replacement...

have you checked out some of the threads about the repro dials?

try this one...

https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/1.../345100504#345100504

let us know what u see....

also other threads from the 'find' feature

https://ihc185.infopop.cc/eve/forums?a=search&...orum_scope=254108073

Picture of Matthew E. Sutton
posted