• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Balance screw tool "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
While looking at older posts on "running too fast", I came across the solution to my problem. I have a Hamilton that is running WAY fast. There is a balance screw missing exactly 180 out. I do have an extra balance wheel of the same type. How is this done? Does the wheel need to be removed from the cock? What tool is used to remove and install these tiny screws? I'm very new at this but want to learm. Thanks for any help. Paul

Posts: 122 | Location: Baltimore, Maryland in the USA | Registered: February 25, 2011
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
If you have a Balance screw holder I suggest you remove the wheel from the Cock and carefully unscrew BOTH of the New screws from the parts wheel, and then replace them in opposition to that "orphan" left on your "good" wheel.
DO NOT TRY TO USE A SCREW DRIVER!

Posts: 6492 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: July 19, 2007
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
If you have a "Watch Maker's Tack" you can do that this way, but take care to hold the wheel so you do not bend or distort the wheel . . .

Posts: 6492 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: July 19, 2007
posted
Dave: Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately i have neither tool. I believe that is the tool you used to replace the regulator screw for me. I will do a search. Thanks again, you are a wealth of information. Paul

Posts: 122 | Location: Baltimore, Maryland in the USA | Registered: February 25, 2011
posted
Dave: I did found a few holders. Any suggestion as to the size? I think i can make that watch makers tack. Paul

IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
16-18s Balance weights are about 1 mm diameter. A holder within a range of 0.25-0.8 mm will probably work. The larger they are, the less likely thay are to mark up the weight. The one I used in the pictures above is at the far right.