Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hamilton 4992-B, Specific Questions "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Guy W. Chandler
posted
Hello, military watch experts. I am bidding on a 4992-B on e-bay. After reading Lindell Riddle's post on the subject
(Apr.11,2012) I now have some concerns about the markings on the back case; it reads: AN 5740; MFR'S PART NO. 4992-B (?); SERIAL NO.AF 43-4010; ORDER 43-9969-AF; HAMILTON WATCH CO.

Here are my concerns: 1. Shouldn't there be a contract # in there, somewhere? 2. Shouldn't the MFR's PART NO. be '33106' for a Hamilton 4992-B?

I would appreciate any and all timely replies to this post, as the auction ends in 24 hrs. Thanks,
Guy

Posts: 4 | Location: San Diego, California in the USA | Registered: June 28, 2012
Picture of Richard Romero
posted
Guy,

I’m not an expert but if you go to Evolution Of 4992B and 3992B Markings, Numbers and Database and look at the post on July 15, 2010 09:43 you will see a case back marked like the one you’re describing. If you look through the topic you’ll notice earlier watches were marked 4992B on the case back and later it was changed to 33106.

From what I’ve learned many military watches had parts switched because when they went in to be serviced the goal was to end up with a watch that worked. They didn’t care about keeping the watch original so you may want to inquire if the case parts (frame, bezel, and back) have matching serial numbers if that’s going to be an issue for you. Other than that if the watch you’re inquiring about has a movement serial # approximately the same as the one referenced in the paragraph above it helps validate both examples as being correct. Hopefully this will help until one of the experts here can reply.

RR

Posts: 1413 | Location: Fremont, California in the USA | Registered: February 06, 2010
Picture of Martin Wagner
posted
Richard is 100% correct in his assessment of what happens when military items get serviced or cleaned.