• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

A Mystery Pocket Watch...or A Counterfeit? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I'm new at this and am stumbling along by trial and error,so please be patient. I don't have any image, but hope the description of this most interesting watch will serve:
ELGIN,7 J, #29592133 (1926), 16 S.PS,PW, OF, Grade 157. Marks on face - ELGIN, bold RR style numerals 1 - 12, w/13-24 ala Canadian style inside
chapter ring. Marks on mvt - ELGIN NAT'L WATCH CO
USA SEVEN JEWELS, 29592133
Marks on case - inside - Keystone (logo)Base metal
outside- AVIATION SECTION /SIGNAL CORPS /U.S.ARMY/
ELGIN.
wHAT DO WE HAVE HERE? Raymond Williamson,Tennessee

Posts: 5 | Location: Maryville,Tennessee USA | Registered: June 24, 2005
posted
Welcome Ray to ch 185, a big family here is waiting to help you in your love of this hobby.
I can,t say for sure what you have, but i do know Elgin made time pieces for the millitary.
I am sure someone else will help you.If you could get some pictures it would help alot. Smile

posted
Can you post some clear photos with closeups? I've never heard of Elgin making anything for the Aviation Section - Signal Corps and the 1926 date is wrong for that marking as well since the ASSC was in existance only between July, 1914 and May, 1918. Between May, 1918 and July, 1926 it was the Army Air Service. After July 1926 it became the Army Air Corps.

Just on the surface of your description is sounds like you have either a frankenwatch or something with ASSC markings added to the case to deceive you. Some photos would help to clarify things, though.

Posts: 872 | Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA | Registered: September 20, 2004
Life Achievement
Military Expert
Picture of Greg Crockett
posted
Some years ago,there was an American pocket watch marked in this manner posted on another web address. Unfortunately, I did not record any information about the watch.