Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Junghans Balance adjustment help needed (1) "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Picture of Moses Gingerich
posted
I feel quite comfrtable with the pendulum escapements, but here I have a Junghans carriage restoration project for a client. I'm having problems on exactly how to set it to get the proper running and speed adjusting capabilities on this spring. I have not pinched the adjustment "leg" tight on the spring as of yet.
I feel confident that the end of the spring needs securing to properly align it perfectly. But then exactly do I set up the speed adjustment?
Any thoughts and help would be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 143 | Location: Waxhaw, North Carolina USA | Registered: March 31, 2005
IHC Life Member
posted
This is a photo, next one to follow.

Moses Gingerich

Junghans Hairspring

IHC Life Member
posted
Second shot of the hairspring.

Moses Gingerich

Picture of Tom Seymour
posted
Moses,
I am not an expert on these. I am sure there are others here who could be of help. Those coily things are second nature to some of our watch people. You might want to post a query there as well.

Tom

Posts: 2537 | Location: Mount Angel, Oregon in the U.S.A. | Registered: November 19, 2002
IHC Member 163
Picture of Mark Cross
posted
'Coily things'? Eek I LOVE it when Tom talks 'technical'! Big Grin Wink

High regard! Mark

Posts: 3831 | Location: Estill Springs, Tennessee, USA | Registered: December 02, 2002
IHC Member 43
posted
Moses, I am also no expert on those "coily" things, but rate is set close by pinning the end and fine adjustment is with the adjustment leg which should not be pinned tight on the hairspring. Make sure that the hairspring is running in a straight plane and that the coils do not touch. I am sure that someone else will show up and make this more understandable

Curly

Posts: 251 | Location: Ashland, Wisconsin U.S.A. | Registered: November 22, 2002
posted
Moses,