Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

How dumb is this mainspring idea? "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 2030
posted
I am new to this. Thinking to save a scrap learning/practice Gilbert clock mainspring by reforming the loop end. About 6" was snapped off when I got it.
I saw this quote in another post, would this work for mainspring? Then rivet?
Thanks
Mike

Quote:
Heat the spring end to bright cherry and IMMEDIATELY!!! plunge it into a five gallon bucket of cool water, swirling it around in the water as you plunge it. (Remember, a large volume of water is important - the old blacksmith used to quench a single horseshoe into a 55 gallon barrel of water). Polish the surface, so you can watch the colors. Reheat to draw the temper at a dark blue, and quench in automobile motor oil.

Posts: 1114 | Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia in the USA | Registered: February 08, 2015
IHC Member 1736
posted
You have fun with that... let us know how it goes.

Posts: 2032 | Location: San Diego, California in the USA | Registered: August 30, 2012
IHC Member 2030
posted
Hoping for a metallurgy lesson from Mr. Booth.
The .75 width and 0.180 thick spring would succomb to manipulation after this treatment?

Posts: 1114 | Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia in the USA | Registered: February 08, 2015
IHC Member 2030
posted
Went ahead, maybe it won't be too dangerous.
Before pic. Yes it was in the movement with an aluminum rivet splice.

IHC Member 2030
posted
After. I will tie the movement to a tree out back when testing this spring.

IHC Member 1736
posted
Good stuff Mike,

Time Savers probably has a new spring for about $10... it's the small purchase fee and shipping that kills me.

I don't see why that wouldn't hold up well. The only compromise is that it will take a couple hours off the run time of the clock.

Posts: 2032 | Location: San Diego, California in the USA | Registered: August 30, 2012
Picture of Dave Turner
posted