• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

New to Clock Repair "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi All. I am new to clock repair. I have a New England Clock Co Regulator thats about 25 years old. It stopped running and I'd like to take it apart and clean it, as a goal. I am not going to try anything more involved as a novice. Ive bought and viewed 2 on-line instructional videos eg. Tascione's, and read a couple books. My concern is the spring winder (I know its tricky, and I'm am not very coordinated) Big Grin. Is there any tools that are safe but not over $100.00 ? I almost feel that I'd like to borrow one from my neigborhood clock shop (which I will not do) before I invest in one. Any suggestions? Tim

Posts: 3 | Location: Northeastern Ohio in the USA | Registered: June 26, 2010
Picture of Greg Reeves
posted
Do you at least have some (spring)clamps and some way to let the springs down before trying to take it apart? You could then take the springs to your local clock shop where they could clean the spring for you. Otherwise, I'm not sure how you could how you could do this operation.

greg

Posts: 497 | Location: Genoa, New York U.S.A. | Registered: November 06, 2003
posted
Thanks Greg, I appreciate the idea which is a great solution. The Spring clamps I can handle.
Take Care

Picture of Bill Carlson
posted
Hi Tim,