• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

First clock "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hello, I am just starting out on clocks, I saw this clock in the charity shop and thought it would be a good one to start on when I took the movement out I sort of changed my mind if any one could I/D this for me and suggest a book I Would be very happy, the chimes are ok, I suspect the trouble is in the escapement it seems a bit twisted, there is no name on the movement but the numbers 16 and at the bottom 58587 any help greatly appreciated, I have the clock course from Tascioni,

front

Posts: 107 | Location: Liverpool, England | Registered: November 27, 2009
posted
back

back

posted
bottom

bottom

posted
I think the main problem is with this escapment seems twisted

posted
side view

side1

posted
side view 2

side view2

posted
top view

Picture of Bill Carlson
posted
Hi, That movement looks like a nice one. But I wouldn't recommend it as a first one to repair though. It appears to have some pretty strong springs in those barrels due to the gear reducers on the arbors.
Just from the photos I think I can see that the Lantern pinion on the strike fly has some messed up leaves on it. But the rest of the movement looks nice.
Its amazing what you can find in thrift stores.

Bill Carlson

Posts: 431 | Location: Billings, Montana USA | Registered: February 05, 2007
posted
You certainly picked a brute for your first clock Les! Wink
Even if it never goes again, the charity shop will have appreciated your purchase, and you'll still get valuable experience with it!

Can't tell you the make, but it's a 3x train Westminster chimer!
(looking from the front) Centre train for time, Left train for the Westminster chimes and Right for the hour count.
All the chime drum and gubbins are missing though!