Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Ball Watch Company Clock Restoration Project "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1101
Site Moderator
Picture of Steve Middlesworth
posted
I just purchased this clock and was wondering if anyone could lead me to a reputable restorer for the clock face and maybe the glass in front of the pendulum. It has a Seth Thomas 8 day movement in it that may need a cleaning as well. I plan on refinishing the case as I am an avid woodworker.

Steve

Webb Ball Clock

Posts: 1980 | Location: Kentucky in the USA | Registered: March 18, 2008
IHC Member 1101
Site Moderator
posted
and the dial.....

IHC Member 1101
Site Moderator
posted
and the pendulum cover....

IHC Member 1101
Site Moderator
posted
It also stated in the discription it had a Seth Thomas 41A movement in it. Any history to that?

Steve

IHC Member 1101
Site Moderator
posted
Also the paperwork on the inside.....

IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted

Steve,

Looks like someone became overly-aggressive in their cleaning and did far more harm than good to your dial. You have what I would take to be an original Ball Watch Company Clock deserving of proper restoration.

The name that comes to mind for your dial work is Martha Smallwood, her contact information is...

The Dial House
3971 Buchanan Highway
Dallas, GA. 30157

Call: 770-445-2877
Fax: 770-443-5426

Dial_House@Juno.com

You may want to look at our "Webb C. Ball Railroad Standard Watches and Clocks" presentation, slide number 55 shows a nearly identical clock to yours. This IHC185 presentation is now on also YouTube at this link...

CLICK TO WATCH: "Webb C. Ball Railroad Standard Watches and Clocks" on YouTube!

Jim Hernick describes the clock that is similar to yours as being a spring-wound Ball-Seth Thomas from about 1920 measuring 23 inches tall having a 12" dial.

Hope this is of help my friend,

Lindell Wink

Similar clock in the Ball Show...