Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

A Throw Away? "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 234
Picture of Jim Cope
posted
...well, I've had this Hamilton Electronic under the microscope and still can't determine how to open the case and replace the weakening battery...

Posts: 872 | Location: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada | Registered: April 16, 2003
IHC Member 234
Picture of Jim Cope
posted
...a look at the back...appears to be sealed...

IHC Member 234
Picture of Jim Cope
posted
...a view of the side as well...any ideas?

IHC Member 376
Watchmaker
Picture of Samie L. Smith
posted
Jim maybe it comes out by removing the crystal ,or is it a water tight crystal..

Posts: 3208 | Location: Monticello, Kentucky U.S.A. | Registered: June 24, 2004
posted
Hi Jim, wish i could help you.Most of the wristies i have seen are screw back cases.But i am a real newbie when it comes to wristies.Maybe someone like Dave Freeman can help you. Sorry.

IHC Member 234
Picture of Jim Cope
posted
...thanks Samie, Kevin...yes, I believe the crystal would have to be removed in order to access the movment in what otherwise appears to be a sealed case...the problem is how is the crystal removed and then how is the stem removed in order to remove the movement?...I 'member now that I bought this 'piece from Rich Kuhn maybe he knows...

Picture of Bruce Byrd
posted
Jim, If you want to throw that away, just put it in an envelope and I will throw it away for you Wink Big Grin

Bruce Byrd

Posts: 888 | Location: San Diego, California USA | Registered: December 27, 2002
IHC Member 376
Watchmaker
Picture of Samie L. Smith
posted
Jim is the crystal glass or plastic ,,,a lot of these you have to use a crystal lifter to remove the crystal (if it,s plastic)..probaly has a 2 piece stem if so it will slip right out the front ,may have to turn the stem a little to get it apart...

For the most part i work on the mechanical watches but have replaced battery,s in a few battery operated watches...