• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

lever movements.what are they "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
As I am new to mechanical watch collecting and learning all the time, can someone please tell me what a lever movement is and what difference or advantage it has to a non lever movement? I have 2 watches with lever movement.

Posts: 26 | Location: Nottingham, England | Registered: March 31, 2009
IHC Member 1101
Site Moderator
Picture of Steve Middlesworth
posted
Michael,

If I understand what you are asking, the most common method of setting the time is with a stem (pendant) set method or a lever set method. The stem set movements you simply pull up on the crown to set the time wheras a lever set movement you have to remove the bezel and and there is a little lever you pull out from just at the edge of the dial. On an Illinois watch this is usually located at the six minute location of the dial. Pulling this lever out allows you to set the time.

Is this what you were asking?

Steve

Posts: 1980 | Location: Kentucky in the USA | Registered: March 18, 2008
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
Michael

When I read your post I thought of the different types of escapements, such as verge, cylinder & lever.

So I will wait to hear back too.

Tom

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
posted
Michael

I agree with Tom when we talk of lever movements we are usually talking about the detached lever escapement as opposed to the verge; cylinder; chronometer or some other form of escapement.

Clive

Posts: 264 | Location: Westbrook, United Kingdom | Registered: June 15, 2007
posted
Now I'm confused.I have a 1920's art deco watch in my collection and it says 17 jewels lever on the dial.I also have an ingersoll from the 1950's that says 7 jewel lever.

IHC Life Member

Picture of Jerry King
posted