• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

ID a 1926 Illinois P-Watch "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Newbie here. Father-in-law has terminal cancer. Last night he passed his Dad's pocket watch on to my wife. She'd like to know more about it. Serial # is 4823677. 17 Jewel. Inside plate measures 1.435" diameter. Does anyone know size & model, how to set the time (winds / runs well but stem won't pull up to set time), and is there anyone out there that could do a moderate cleaning of it? Wife would love to show it to her Dad after a little TLC. Thanks so much for any info / advice!

IHC Member 1101
Site Moderator
Picture of Steve Middlesworth
posted
Brian,

Sorry to hear the grim news of your Father-in-law, may you and your families remain strong during these hard times.

Regarding your watch, it is a 12 size, 17 jewel, model 3, grade 406 pocket watch. It is stem wound and pendant set meanining if you pull up on the crown (the winder) it should pop up and you can set the time push back down to wind. It was made in 1926.

If you have anymore questions feel free to ask. Your watch appears to be in very nice condition.

Steve

IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
Hi Brian

Welcome to our club, which it could be under better circumstances, sorry to hear of your father-in-laws ill health.

Your Illinois is a size 12, 17 jewel pendent set open face model 3 grade 405. It was made in 1926. This model was made from 1911-1929 for a total of 390,360.

The stem should pull out to set the time but it may be frozen in place from lack of use, do not try to force it, it should be serviced if it won't pull up.

It should have jewels in settings, gold beveled & polished center wheel & patent regulator.

The engraving on the movement should be either red or black filled.