Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

TIMING MACHINES "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Picture of Ronny Manis
posted
I have read some of the earlier post about timming machines because I am planning on buying one. Keeping in mind I would be timming 16 and 18 size pocket watches as a hoby, what would you recomend?

Posts: 171 | Location: Cookeville, Tennessee USA | Registered: July 25, 2005
IHC Member 229
posted
I have a few old Watchmaster's I have restored....G-7....G-11's...excellent for anything that's doing 18000 beats....trouble is...there heavy...figure 40lbs shipping from 08876...$100.00 ea.

Posts: 148 | Location: Somerville, New Jersey USA | Registered: November 28, 2002
IHC Life Member
Picture of Ronny Manis
posted
Thanks for the offer Tony. I was actually trying to get some opinions (pros and cons)on different brands so I could make an informed decision when I buy. Anyone out there with an opinion on this subject??

Posts: 171 | Location: Cookeville, Tennessee USA | Registered: July 25, 2005
IHC Member 229
posted
Ah,....I see.....it really depends on how much money you want to spend....most folks prefer the Vibrograf 100...200 series...readily available on Ebay...most of the Watchmaster are cheaper...but...most of them don't work....then there's the Tickoprints and Greiner machines...most of which are in need of repair...the above machines are all old stuff...used about 30-50 years ago....and can be purchased and brought to working order for about $100-$600...for about $300-$500...you can get a solid state Microset...folks who own and use these machine will swear by them...I got "hooked" on these old Watchmasters because they are cheap and easy to repair...and..there are so many "junkers" out there...there is a good supply of parts. Any other opinions?

Posts: 148 | Location: Somerville, New Jersey USA | Registered: November 28, 2002
posted