Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

cleaning a watch question "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
i saw on the youtube that lighter fluid is good for soaking parts for cleaning. is this a stupid idea? what is ideal? and where do i buy it? should i invest in an ultrasonic cleaner?
thanks
Todd

dalarry

Posts: 290 | Location: Montreal in Canada | Registered: January 11, 2015
posted
Todd,

Guys do use lighter fluid and I am sure it works, but I have always use modern fluids made by L&R. I use a fine cleaning fluid and also a rinse made by L&R which are both sold by a number of suppliers for both ultrasonics and mechanicals.Caskers for one can suppy these items to you.

Rob
www.pocketwatchrepairs.net

Posts: 580 | Location: Kingsport, Tennessee in the USA | Registered: November 26, 2002
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
thanks Rob, i have now cleaned and re-assembled exactly 1 PW. complete noob. but very enthusiastic. and as a bonus the watch is running.
is an Ultra sonic cleaner a worthwhile investment?

dalarry

posted
Todd if you plan to continue to clean watches on an ongoing basis the answer is clearly yes. Cleaning machines are very worth while and they speed the cleaning process up considerably over hand or jar cleaning.

Make sure to add pegwood and pithwood to your cleaning tools.

Rob
www.pocketwatchrepairs.net

Posts: 580 | Location: Kingsport, Tennessee in the USA | Registered: November 26, 2002
posted
I think L&R makes also ultrasonic cleaners so you can have all from one brand. Zodiak is also good for cleaning, can be found on esslinger website (tey have l&r and cleaners as well). Its beter to buy branded ultrasonic to save future dissapoinments.

Rafal

Posts: 266 | Location: Wroclaw in Poland | Registered: May 06, 2013
Administrative Assistant
Picture of Dr. Debbie Irvine
posted

Todd,