• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

how to clean a pocket watch "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
i am new to this so please bear with me.. what kind of cleaning fluid is used to clean a pocket watch?

Posts: 5 | Location: Santa Cruz, California in the USA | Registered: October 02, 2008
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted
Welcome Jeffery,

There are several makers of watch cleaning solution out there the most popular are made by L&R, here is a link to the web site

Link: web site

Posts: 2625 | Location: Northeast Texas in the USA | Registered: November 20, 2003
IHC Life Member
posted
Just my opinion, but I believe the entire process of cleaning a pocket watch is more important than the cleaning solution used. Do you already know the steps to take to ensure a proper cleaning? As anyone with some experience knows it is a LOT more involved than you would think at first glance. Not all that difficult if you have some aptitude, decent tools, patience, and a nice support group like this one.

Posts: 1078 | Location: Ticonderoga, New York USA | Registered: March 01, 2008
IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted

Welcome Aboard Jeffrey,

I think a lot of the emphasis that professionals like Chris put on the products has to do with doing no damage to the movement in addition to being stable, consistently predictable and safe. In this instance safe means not only safe to use but safe to store in the home environment. It really frightens me to know that lighter fluid is often used to clean watch movements.

Roger also makes an important bottom-line point, it is not enough that you know what to use but of supreme importance is that you know how to use it. Doing it right is so much more important than doing it fast.

Lindell

Wink

Posts: 10553 | Location: Northeastern Ohio in the USA | Registered: November 19, 2002
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted