Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Introduction and request 992 inspection "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Good evening ladies and gentlemen,
First I would like to comment on the civility, conduct, and scholarly nature of this discussion board. It's not often you find a place like this on the WWW. Thank you for offering such a place. Since I am complete newb to pocket watches and horology I won't be able to add much to the conversation around here but I will do what I can.

I have been interested in pocket watches since I was sixteen. I asked for a pocket watch for Christmas at that time (25 years ago) and was given a 'gold' Lucien Piccard. I grew tired of the gold look before the battery died. It now resides in a box in my closet.

About two months ago I came across some youtube videos of a gentleman and his pocket watch collection. That was all I needed to start researching. I watched ebay and researched various websites for a month to find out what I wanted and how much it would cost.

Of course, as these things go I found this website after my first purchase. After finding this place I paid my dues, which includes a copy of Cooksey Shugarts book and have been scouring this website to soak up as much as possible.

My first purchase is a Hamilton 992 #2482872 with a Star Nickel case #8084833.

I have a few questions I hope you can answer.

1- Is this case period correct for my movement? I can't find much about Star cases and I am unclear as to if this movement could have been sold with or without the case.

2- What would be a period correct case from Hamilton? If I understand my research correctly a Model 3 through Model 10 case could be used. I actually love this case and if it is period correct I will leave it alone.

3- Are the hands and dial correct for the movement?

4- Finally, Feel free to critique any issues that you see.