Page 1 2 
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Newly Discovered Meylan Repeater "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
My name is Jessica Goldstein, and I am a student at Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire, USA. I am currently doing research on a Meylan repeater that I have found in our collections, and am having a hard time ascertaining information about it. I have attached all the files we currently have concerning the repeater. Do you know more information about how the watch functions, such as how the leap year works and the other various intricacies of the watch? Also if you know any information on the Meylan family and company that would be great. I am doing an exhibition on this piece so any information would be extremely helpful.

Posts: 13 | Location: New Hampshire in the USA | Registered: July 27, 2014
posted
Here is its catalog in our Hood Museum. I have found that the "H" in "H-3-58-d" is actually an "11" so it is a date.

Artist/Maker:
Claude H. Meylan, Le Brassus, Switzerland, Swiss, late 19th - early 20th century
Title:
Gold Watch
Date:
Medium:
Slide-activated minute repeater, split-second chronograph; minute register; 18K gold open front case no. 8026; 40 jewel works no. 5915; perpetual calendar (handles leap years) and moonphase, white enamel dial, four sunken subsidiary dials (months, date, seconds and moonphase, day), Roman numerals, probably lever set (did not open face); engraved on back cover: "Presented to Joseph H. Maloy by J. Bertschmann / January 1918." Engraved back of cover: "C.H. Meylan / Switzerland / 18K / 8026." Scratched out same back of cover: "H-3-58-d" (repair marks?, March 1958?). In velvet-lined wooden case
Classification:
Scientific Instrument
Scientific Instrument - Time
Geography/Culture:
Europe, Switzerland
Period:
20th century
Dimensions:
Overall: 1 3/4 x 6 x 4 x 1 1/2 in. (4.445 x 15.24 x 10.16 x 3.81 cm)
Object Name:
Time
Credit Line: