WWT Shows CLICK TO: Join and Support Internet Horology Club 185™ IHC185™ Forums

• Check Out Our... •
• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Help with identity of manufacturer - Gallett? #149217 "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1369
posted
The movement below is claimed to be by Golay but does not look like any Golay movement that I can find a photo of. I am assuming that it is Swiss or from somewhere else in Europe but it looks US to me.

Anyone know who made this? Thanks.

Golay movement?

Posts: 542 | Location: Ontario in Canada | Registered: February 10, 2010
IHC Member 1892
posted
Hi: That is a beautiful movement but I do not recognize it. Is it a 18 or 16 sz. And could you include a pic of the Eaton logo on the dial. I am not an expert on them by any stretch but I understand the logo can be different according to the maker. I have had a few but seldom a 18 sz. If I remember they were Tavaness, Omega but I have seen ww with Longines

Posts: 361 | Location: Kincardine, Ontario in Canada | Registered: November 25, 2013
IHC Member 1892
posted
Hi again: I am thinking Gallet & co. . I did a search with Eaton and pulled up a few earlier posts and one looks like yours but is marked Gallet.

Posts: 361 | Location: Kincardine, Ontario in Canada | Registered: November 25, 2013
IHC Member 1369
posted
Hi John, this one is 18S and 21J. Do you have a link to the Gallett thread?

Just did a search and found a couple of photos that seem to look like this one and are thought to be Gallett. I know nothing about Gallett.

Any additional thoughts about Gallett and this movement? There was a comment that is was made for Waltham, an 1892 movement style?

IHC Member 1892
posted