• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

glass crystal question "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I've been collecting for about 15 years but I still don't know for sure what type of glass crystal to replace a plastic crystal with that would conform to the OEM glass that came from the factory on a RR watch, in order to keep the "authentic" look. Many seem to like the beveled look but was that type commonly produced as OEM crystals? It seems to me that a rather low dome and thinner glass than the beveled ones was the most common on the 16S RR watches like the 992B and the Bunn Specials, but I could be wrong...

Posts: 383 | Location: Northern Pennsylvania USA | Registered: April 04, 2007
IHC Member 1110
posted
Dennis, I think it's a matter of which style you like.I believe the original crystals on Hamilton and Bunn Special factory cases were called Mi-Chevee , they are a nice looking domed glass with a curved non-beveled edge.William White makes and installs the best watch crystals there is.He does outstanding work and is a pleasure to deal with!

Posts: 1322 | Location: Lebanon, Connecticut USA | Registered: March 28, 2008
Administrative Assistant
Picture of Dr. Debbie Irvine
posted

Dennis,

Ted is correct William White makes the best crystals!

Here is a link: Newly Manufactured White's Glass Pocket Watch Crystals

And even more fascinating reading is this topic by William: How Watch Crystals Are Made

Debbie

Posts: 5207 | Location: Northern Ohio in the U.S.A. | Registered: December 04, 2002
IHC Life Member
Picture of William D. White
posted
Hi Dennis,