• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Newbie says 'hi' "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Lurker/new member here ... interested in collecting (and maybe eventually tinkering with?) RR grade pocket watches. I'm a newbie, reading all I can on teh interwebz and books. (Shugart/Ehrhardt). Recommendations always welcome!

Smile

DS

Posts: 51 | Location: New York City in the USA | Registered: October 07, 2011
IHC Life Member

Picture of Jerry King
posted
Hello and Welcome Doug....

You have come to the right place to learn everything you need for collecting and some ideas to help with your tinkering....

I hope you have yourself a great time looking and reading all you can here at IHC185, the research forums are the greatest anywhere on the web and some you can only find here....

Again, Welcome to IHC185, where the meeting never stops....

Regards,

Jerry

Posts: 2828 | Location: California in the USA | Registered: June 23, 2008
posted
Thanks Jerry!

Any advice on getting started tinkering? I have several concerns:

(1) Should I look to buy some random movements cheap and just expect to break them? Which ones?

(2) There are no classes anywhere close to me, so I'll likely have to do most of this myself. Read a book?

(3) Tools? I don't think I can convince my wife to put an ultrasonic cleaner in our bedroom, especially if it needs lighter fluid to work!!

Big Grin

DS

IHC Life Member

Picture of Jerry King
posted
Hello Doug....

Start with number 1 if possible and get yourself some parts watches to start with....
Then follow this link,Chris Abel - Watch Repair Check List.... make a copy of it and start tinkering....

You should get yourself a set of tools to start with also....

There are watch repair classes available and you can check with some of our fellow watchmakers to find out where....I'm sure some will be along shortly....have patience....

Good Luck,

Regards,

Jerry