Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hamilton 934 Running Sluggish "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1610
Picture of Harry J. Hyaduck Sr.
posted
I decided to clean a Hamilton 934 that I recently acquired. Tell me where I went wrong. I'm a big boy I can take it.

It is running sluggish so I took most of the watch apart and soaked everything in lighter fluid except the mainspring, dial and hands.

I reassembled everything and oiled all the jewels. I DID NOT open the mainspring and lube it since I have never done that before. I also have not put the dial and hands back on.

The movement barely runs. The only two things I can think of is maybe I put too much oil on the jewels even though I did not put very much on each jewel or the mainspring needs lubrication or replacing. If you put a winding stem in the winding stem hole and wind the movement all the way and hold pressure on the winding stem the watch does fine. When you let off the pressure the movement slows to a stop.

Let me have it. Tell me the good the bad and the ugly.

Posts: 3850 | Location: Georgia in the USA | Registered: September 22, 2011
IHC Life Member
Picture of Eugene Buffard
posted
I"ll start.
By using lighter fluid to clean you movement you will not be able to properly Clean it. It is quite obvious that there is to much tension- resistant on the gear train.

How many watches have you successfully been able to clean this way.

Have you had any classes or been lucky enough to had a mentor. There are basic watch repair classes and would be a start in repairing /cleaning that is a starting point.

Posts: 3323 | Location: Illinois in the USA | Registered: July 06, 2010
IHC Life Member
Picture of Eugene Buffard
posted
Did you peg the jewels. There are as many recommended cleaners as there are opinions as to which ones or correct. I use an L + R watch cleaner.

Here is a Link

Posts: 3323 | Location: Illinois in the USA | Registered: July 06, 2010
IHC Member 1610
posted
Hello Eugene,