Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hunter Hang-up "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Stu Goldstein
posted
I’m relatively new to pocket watches, live in the country, and don’t get to marts, so the only hunter-case watches I’ve ever held are the three I own.

My gripe is that when I’m fetching my hunters out of my pocket I can’t tell by “feel” which side is the front, so unless I look closely at the design (not always easy with poor vision or in a dark place) I have a 50-50 chance of opening it “wrong-side-down” and having to turn it over to see the dial.

I suppose you’re thinking, “Just be sure the front’s facing you every time you put the watch in your pocket.” I’ve tried it; it doesn’t work for me; I can’t explain why. Frown

Or else you’re thinking, “Just turn the bloody watch over if necessary and quit griping about it.” In this I simply beg for your indulgence. Red Face

So I’m looking for a hunter case that you can readily tell by feel which side is the front.

Ordinary engraving (scenes, designs, initials) aren’t prominent enough to allow me to readily distinguish the front from the back by feel.

I’ve thought of two possibilities.

I imagine that a case with a stone like a diamond in the front cover would do the trick. The problem is that such cases are rare (at least on eBay, especially in the large-size case I prefer) and spendy, and I’ve never held one. Those who’ve handled such a case: Would it solve the problem?

I also imagine that you can readily tell the front of a hemi/semi/demi-hunter by the feel of the small crystal in the front cover. Can you?

Can anyone think of any other kind of un-defaced* hunter case that would solve the problem?

Thank you in advance for your ideas!

* I’d be reluctant to, say, braze a half-inch nut to the front cover. Smile

Stu

Posts: 355 | Location: Northern Idaho in the U.S.A. | Registered: November 26, 2002
Watch Repair Expert
posted