• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

1890's Elgin G.M. Wheeler help please! "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I recently came across my Great-grandfather’s Elgin pocket watch. It’s in pieces, with many missing. I’m just starting out here, and thinking of buying a similar watch here, or on eBay to try and resurrect it. Don’t want to be naïve; I just need help in the right direction. This is my first post. Thanks
G.M. Wheeler
Grade: 44
Movement Serial Number: 4745154
Estimated Production Year: 1893
Run Quantity: 1000
Size: 18s
Jewels: 15j
Movement Configuration: Open-faced
Movement Finish: Nickel
Model: 5
Class: 9

Posts: 29 | Location: Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts in the USA | Registered: November 15, 2013
posted
These were quite common so I think some of the guys that service watches on this site should have the parts needed to complete it, you have the parts that would have serial numbers on them. Take the yellow dial and toss it in the trash there is not hope for it and putting it back on will only rust your hands.

If you need a name send me a private message and I will make some suggestions.

Posts: 1797 | Location: Michigan in the USA | Registered: September 19, 2009
IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted
As an 1890's vin. movement, this probably pre-dates your Grandpa. With many parts missing or questionable, I would normally suggest finding a similar COMPLETE vintage movement and restoring that using the dial from this one to make a watch that represents that period. Re-assembling this one with the parts left is totally possible but only worthwhile for sentimental reasons. Even the crown winding stem is missing which is often one of the harder parts to replace

Posts: 6492 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: July 19, 2007
Picture of Dave Turner
posted