• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

1920 or 1923? Elgin Questions "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I just recently purchased a 1920 or 1923? Elgin pocket watch at a very reasonable price(I think). I know very little about the information I obtained from the seller being that I am new to the watch/clock world. But I do know I am "hooked" or sorta obsessed with time pieces, I think more so on Pocket Watches rather than clocks. This one just sorta struck my fancy. I would appreciate some thoughts here on this particular piece... I do know that there are some expert professional collectors on this forum that know their "stuff" and I value their opinions. Here is the description and I will post pics:
MOVEMENT:ELGIN NAT'L WATCH CO,SERIAL # 23,622,499,GRADE 384,SIZE 12,CLASS 114,OPEN FACED,QUICK TRAIN,PENDANT WINDING AND SETTING, 3/4 NICKEL PLATE,3rd MODEL,SEVENTEEN JEWELS, GOLD JEWEL SETTINGS,EXPOSED WINDING WHEELS, ADJUSTEDTO HEAT,COLD,AND ISOCHRONISM,STREAM LINE BOW AND PENDANT. MOVEMENT DATES TO 1920, CUSTOM MADE FOR OTTO YOUNG & CO.,wHO GAVE THE MOVEMENT, AND THE WHOLE WATCH, DISTINCT STRTEAMLINE FEATURES FOR MARKETING IN 1923......ACCURATE. HAS BEEN STORED BY A WELL LOVED RECIPIENT FOR ALMOST ALL OF IT'S 85 YEARS !! VERY LOW MILEAGE...THESE 1923 OTTO YOUNG AND CO STREAMLINE WATCHES, ARE SINGLED OUT BY ROY EHRHARD IN HIS BOOK ON THE ELGIN WATCH COMPANY.
DIAL: DESCRIBED BY THE MANUFACTURER AS "CLEAR, SPACIOUS, SILVERED".ORIGINAL.
HANDS: BLUE/BLACK GUNMETAL. CROSS BAR DIAMOND STYLE.
CRYSTAL: GLASS. ORIGINAL
CASE: 10 KARAT GOLD FILLED BY THE WADSWORTH WATCH CASE CO OF NEWPORT, KY. SNAP ON FRONT BEZEL WITH HINGED REAR COVER. BEAUTIFULLY ENGINEERED, HAVING AN ENGRAVED BOW, WITH ENRAVING SURROUNDING THE BEZEL AND ALSO SURROUNDING THE SIMPLY PLAIN REAR COVER.
pics to follow

Posts: 65 | Location: Mississippi in the USA | Registered: March 16, 2008
posted
Elgin pic:

posted
another view:

posted
movement:

posted
inside case:

posted
another: