WWT Shows CLICK TO: Join and Support Internet Horology Club 185™ IHC185™ Forums

• Check Out Our... •
• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

My First PW is a Swiss Fake and I Couldn't Be Happier "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1541
Picture of Lorne Wasylishen
posted
Hello,
I am a retired CNR Locomotive Engineer and spent my career working on old Grand Trunk Pacific territory from Jasper AB to Prince Rupert B.C. Up until two months ago I did not even know GTP watches existed, then an old movement and dial came up on ebay. I didn't win it but contacted the buyer and he informed me another had sold previously in a 6 item steampunk lot. I managed to track it down in S Carolina and ended up getting it very cheaply.

I have been in contact with one of the members here and he is willing to attempt a restoration but we need parts. It needs an Escape Pallet plus assorted screws so we felt the best bet was to ask here. If anyone has one of these movements (or any GTP related items) in their junk bin I would be glad to take them off your hands. It will need a case at some point but I suppose I should try to get it running first. It is a size 18 and would date between 1903 when GTP received it's charter and about 1923 when it went bankrupt and became part of the CNR.

Posts: 2093 | Location: British Columbia in Canada | Registered: March 02, 2011
IHC Member 1541
posted
This is my first attempt at watch pictures and I am quite pleased with myself.

posted
Welcome Lorne -

Good pics and and a cool 24hr dial. Smile

Posts: 2962 | Location: Western New York in the USA | Registered: March 24, 2008
Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan
posted
Hello Lorne:

Nice pictures of the GTP Swiss fake, here are some pictures of the real McCoy a Hamilton Grade 940

Larry

Posts: 3370 | Location: Okotoks Alberta Canada | Registered: November 22, 2002
Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan