Tools
Reply to Post

Minute Repeater, listen to chimes "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted
Hi

I thought I would post this up for fun, have been working on this great repeater all day, and was thinking many people may not have heard one, click the link below and should take you to my web site and a
Short video

Remember its a rotten job I do for a living but someone has to do it Big Grin Razz Big Grin

Posts: 2625 | Location: Northeast Texas in the USA | Registered: November 20, 2003
Picture of James H. Miller
posted
wow thats cool Chris,may we see what the movement looks like?if you have the time.
james

Posts: 279 | Location: Wheatridge, Colorado in the USA | Registered: January 20, 2008
IHC Life Member
Picture of Ethan Lipsig
posted
I hope I won't embarrass Chris by saying that it is my hitherto unfortunate repeater that Chris is working on. My California watchmaker spent a year restoring it (damaging the dial in the process), and then sent it to a "master" watchmaker friend for further fine tuning. He returned it to me saying that there was nothing he could do to get it to ring time correctly, which he falsely claimed had been a problem when I asked him to perform a COA. He also claimed that the watch had the wrong or a damaged "rack," whatever that is, and that it would never ring properly again.

So I sent it to Chris. Within a day, he had it working properly. He explained that the parts were all fine and that my California watchmaker and his "master" watchmaker friend had just reassembled the watch incorrectly. If only Chris could fix the damaged dial so easily!

Here is a picture of the movement.

Posts: 1414 | Location: Pasadena, California USA | Registered: November 11, 2005
posted
Thank's for the video post Chris. I'd never seen (heard) one before.

Posts: 357 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: April 05, 2008
IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted