Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Help! Watch running 4 hours fast a day. "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1610
Picture of Harry J. Hyaduck Sr.
posted
I just got in a 18s Hampden Gladiator. The hairspring is a flat hairspring and was very dirty and oily and the coils were sticking together. I demagnetized it and cleaned it so the hairspring is fine. It is an unadjusted movement and it has 5 balance weights on each side with no meantime screws. I got it in a few days ago so I have no knowledge on what has been done to it. I did notice some guy put a metal pin where the roller jewel is suppose to be. The only thing I can think of is maybe someone mixed some slow train wheels and some fact train wheels together or maybe mismatched the hor wheel and minute wheel??? I have not taken it apart yet but I am trying to get a game plan on what to look for before I tear into it. I don't think I could add enough balance weights to make up 4 hours. What say y'all.

Thanks,
Harry

Posts: 3850 | Location: Georgia in the USA | Registered: September 22, 2011
Picture of Billy Kuhn
posted
Check the hour wheel? If you put the watch on a timing machine and it shows running good then it would be in the train wheel.

Posts: 1012 | Location: Killen, Alabama in the USA | Registered: January 15, 2013
posted
Hey Harry,

I think #1 would be to clean and oil it, and make sure the mainspring is good. Normal checks during that process. Your just going to be chasing your tail unless it's clean and lubricated.

Anyways, if you want to make sure it's not the motion works, what's the BPH showing? If the bph is normal and hands are showing +4 hours I would think it's the cannon pinion, hour or minute wheel (or combination)

Posts: 90 | Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in the USA | Registered: December 07, 2019
IHC Member 1610
posted
Hi Billy and Rick,