Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hamilton 983 case markings..... is this 18K? "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
posted
Greetings to all, and forgive me if I make any procedural errors, as this is my first post! Smile

My Father was a lifelong watchmaker, who sadly passed away about two years ago. I am slowly, and sadly, liquidating a portion of his Pocket watch collection Frown

I came across a beautiful little Hamilton 983, that according to the guide, has an 18k case. But, as a novice, I dont see any markings on the case to show it is indeed 18k. I have taken a couple pics of the markings, and if someone could offer their opinion, I would appreciate it!

Now if the pics just show up....

http://s258.photobucket.com/al...t=case-marking-1.jpg

http://s258.photobucket.com/al...t=case-marking-2.jpg

Posts: 248 | Location: Tacoma, Washington in the USA | Registered: March 10, 2009
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
Hello Kevin

Welcome to the club & glad to have you as a member.

The case in your photos is a gold filled case, I have owned other Hamilton cases with those markings & they were gold filled.

Tom

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
IHC Member 376
Watchmaker
Picture of Samie L. Smith
posted
Kevin where are selling or auctioning this I would sure be interested in the watch. Smile

Posts: 3208 | Location: Monticello, Kentucky U.S.A. | Registered: June 24, 2004
IHC Life Member
posted
Thanks Tom - I've seen the warranted for 10 year, 20 year, and the like, just not the "permanently" marking like on this case.

And for Samie, thanks for your interest, and give me a few days and I will list it on this site for sale. I have been selling on Ebay for years and have recently sold some of my Fathers equipment there. You can see my feedback under the users name "neunik" - without the quote marks. it will be nice to give Ebay a rest, at least once, and save all those fees.