• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Who made the best railroad-grade watches? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
What's the pecking order for railroad-grade watches? It seems like the most expensive watches on ebay and this site are Ball, followed by Hamilton, Illinois, Elgin, and Waltham. The Waltham watches are usually the cheapest. What about the other manufacturers, Hampden, South Bend, Howard, etc? Where do they fit in? All the manufacturers that produced railroad-grade watches had to meet the minimum standard, and some exceeded it. Is the current market price of a watch based on the number of units originally produced, or the quality in relation to its' competitors?

Posts: 148 | Location: Seattle, Washington in the USA | Registered: December 20, 2008
posted
That is a complex question, I think. I'm no expert by a long shot, but I've got some ideas. The accuracy of the watches improved with time, of course, as the technology advanced. But the quality of the watch wasn't measured by the accuracy alone. The materials used played a big part in how quality was measured because the watch was considered an item of jewelry as well as a time piece. The amount of time required in fine tuning the instrument also was considered where the price was concerned. And the manner of construction was important. The Howard Company, for instence, used more hand finishing, or so I've been told. One watch maker oversaw each individual watch's construction from start to finish (in the original Howard company, that is). Thus their watches were generally more expensive. It's like comparing a Jaguar to a Sting Ray, as far as construction goes, I guess. Prices today factor in scarcity and historic considerations as well. Ball watches are very collectable partly because Web C. Ball was such an important figure in the development of railroad timekeeping, and because the Ball name came to be the quintesential measure of railroad standards.