Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

GS MK II Pocket Watch. More information please? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi,

I've recently been given what I believe to be a GS MK II pocket watch which belonged to my Great-Grandad and was interested to find out some more information about it. I'm a complete novice to anything about this but did stumble across this page: British Horological Institute - Military Watch Information.

If I’ve understood this correctly this seems to say that they were military watches issued between the early 1900’s and the start of WWII. I was wondering if anyone could shed any more light on the watch, it's history, when and where it was likely to have been made etc.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

I will post some pictures and more information shortly.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Posts: 4 | Location: Birmingham in the United Kingdom | Registered: February 27, 2012
posted
As promised please find links to pictures of said watch. It's not in the great condition but hopefully these will help.

The back is engraved with an upwards arrow, GS MK II and then a reference beginning with "A"

The back of the mechanism (not sure of the correct term) has only the engraving "Swiss Made" and then the "F" and "S" adjuster which I assume means faster and slower?

Once again thanks in advance.

Dave

Watch and Case
Face
Mechanism
Back1
Back2

Posts: 4 | Location: Birmingham in the United Kingdom | Registered: February 27, 2012
posted
I think the wording in that article is unclear. From what I know GS Mark II watches are mid to late 1930s. Supposedly the ones with the black faces were used as pocket watches, and the ones with the white faces were issued without bows on the winding stem and were used on various instruments or mounted to panels and such.

Posts: 872 | Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA | Registered: September 20, 2004
posted