Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Help With Bulova WW II Wrist Watch "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1955
Picture of Michael P. McNamee
posted
Hi all,

A couple of days ago I met an impressive gentleman named Bob, in his 80s, who was a pilot in WW II. He and his wife are preparing to move into assisted living, and so they were having an estate sale. I purchased a very nice LeCoultre 60's era automatic wrist watch from him, which needs repair, along with a Seiko automatic from around the same era with one of those neat beveled-glass crystals.

Bob also has this very interesting Bulova wrist watch that he said he acquired during the war. (Pictures below). As a Navy veteran myself, I offered him $100, and was prepared to offer more, but he wasn't immediately willing to sell it. I think he wants to see if his children have any interest in it first.

Anyway, I told him I'd try to gather some information about the watch. The case back reads "ORD. DEPT. U.S.A. OF 558402 BULOVA WATCH CO."

I'd appreciate hearing from anyone who knows anything about the history of this watch.

Here's the dial:

Posts: 1088 | Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota in the USA | Registered: October 15, 2013
IHC Member 1955
posted
And here's the case:

Posts: 1088 | Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota in the USA | Registered: October 15, 2013
posted
Hi Michael.