Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Black Dialed Turning Bezel wristwatches "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hello Jim,

maybe my statement about ''modern pilots'' was unclear, i meant (NAVIGATIONAL) clocks and watches such the Weems', the Lindberg', the Longines Siderograph Chronometre, the pocket CGT, the Mark3 Octant or the Heuer or the Junghans Sideral Time wrist watches just to list some...i did not mean the standard panel clock which must be there because flight invariably is function of bearing, speed and TIME neither the simpler watches such the Breitling's Navitimer or similar which anyway were widely used for flight scopes.

The usage of these timepieces is long gone and i do not believe that what was in common use in the early time of flying is now anymore at reach of the modern pilots.

rgds

Enzo

Posts: 285 | Location: Rome, Italy | Registered: May 19, 2005
posted
Enzo

posted
Enzo

posted
Thanks Enzo.

I am a pilot, though I no longer fly. I flew small military aircraft for 10 years. My father was also a pilot. He flew for Pan Am and he was a squadron commander for the U.S. Army Air Force in the second world war.

I was simply saying that pilots of today do use the panel clocks as one of their standard instruments to navigate while they are flying. In most modern aircraft they are electronic now, but in many they are still mechanical since mechanical clocks will not fail if your electical system gets knocked out by a lighting strike on your aircraft. This is also why modern aircraft still have whiskey compasses in addition to electronic ones and gyro ones. A whiskey compass is what pilots call an old style compass that works by magnetism alone. These are filled with a liquid to dampen the movement of the indicator. The liquid is a kind of alchohol but back in early days when the fluid needed to be topped off and the special alchohol was not readily available you could fill them with whiskey and they would work just fine.