Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hamilton Military Pocket Watch "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Member 1622
posted
I picked this watch up a while ago because it appeared to be in pretty good shape. I am very new in watch collecting and was curious if someone could give me some background on this type of watch. Also, I realize the case has some scratches but what would something in this condition bring???

Thanks for any info,
Joey

Posts: 177 | Location: Kentucky in the USA | Registered: October 16, 2011
IHC Member 1622
posted
Picture 2

IHC Member 1622
posted
Picture 3, I was told this site loves pictures...

IHC Member 1550
posted
Welcome Joey,

What you have there is a nice little piece of military and horological history: The Hamilton 992B is a “Rail Road” grade watch. As you should know there is a lever to pull when the crystal bezel is removed to set the time. This was a safety feature to hinder accidental time changes as having the correct time on the rail roads was so important.

There are a few variations to your watch. Two such variations are the dial and the rear lid nomenclature. The other style dial is called the “Montgomery” dial and the other style rear lid had a different type of military codes and serial numbers.