• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Replating cases on military watches "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I am new to watch collecting so please forgive my ignorance. I like railroad watches so I check ebay and other sites for potential purchases. Most of the cases on WW II military pocket watches that were actually used, are in bad shape. Would replating those cases destroy the integrity of the watch? Most 16s railroad watches have 10K gold-filled cases, that seem to have held up pretty well. I would like to buy a military watch some day, say a Hamilton 4992B, but I hesitate to spend a lot on a watch with a really worn-looking case.

Posts: 148 | Location: Seattle, Washington in the USA | Registered: December 20, 2008
posted
All you have to do is wait for the right one to come along and put the most you are willing to pay at the last minute here is one I got off flea-bay a few years ago.

it's the Elgin version of the 4992B and I got a few that look well used like a pair of hamilton 2974B's comparing watches that show's they were well used in WW2 and after by the Navy I keep them most of the time the way I get them.

Posts: 523 | Location: Northern California in the USA | Registered: November 23, 2008
posted
That's probably good advice. Usually if you see a watch that seems cheap, it has problems, so you're better off to pay a little more for one that's in good shape.

Posts: 148 | Location: Seattle, Washington in the USA | Registered: December 20, 2008
posted
It is up to each collector but I tend to see two groups - those who prefer as pristine of an example as possible, and those who are happy with an example that shows actual use during the war. I think both groups are equally right for collecting the way they do.