• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Update! Cuckoo Clock off chime (now working!) "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Found a beautiful turn of the century (last century) American Cuckoo clock. Very nice clock and original.
Rebuilt bellows, cleaned oiled etc.. Works perfectly "except" The cuckoo gets off chime to the hour and then it gets totally random. It will chime the 3 o'clock on the half hour and then the 6 o'clock on the 2-o'clock with no rhyme or reason and its totally mixed up. If you reset the hands to match the cuckoo in short order its completely mixed up again.
I am no expert and total amateur and I was told there is a cam or lobe that is worn and not tripping things properly?? Anyone out there know what is screwed up its making me nuts
Andrew??

cheyenne56

Posts: 40 | Location: New Jersey in the USA | Registered: March 18, 2015
Picture of Dan Carter
posted
Well, it is a cuckoo clock... (I couldn't resist Smile

I really don't know either, but is it keeping time, just not chiming at the right time?
Dan

Posts: 407 | Location: Northern Virginia in the USA | Registered: October 08, 2011
posted
Yes keeps perfect time, cuckoo and bellows function fine, just the number of cuckoos goes off, so it starts to cuckoo the hours on the half hour, or the wrong # of cuckoos for the proper hour.......
Can't find a pattern to it yet just seems to get off randomly. Perhaps I should see if I do detect a repeatable pattern to hoe it goes off?

cheyenne56

posted
Dan thank you for the help! You aren't related to Robert Carter by any chance?

cheyenne56

Picture of Dan Carter
posted
No relation to Mr. Robert Carter Smile