Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

IHC WRISTWATCH COLLECTORS "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Bill Carlson
posted
Hi Dave,

You kind of stirred up the wrist watch people a little. :-)

I have been collecting and repairing clocks for over 30 years. I had never even thought much about collecting watches.

I did own 3 railroad pocket watches and a couple of my Grandfathers size 18 watches and a couple more.

My father-in-law had started a watch collection and had two cases made to hang on the wall. One for pocket watches and another for wrist watches.

He passed away and I inherited the watches and cases. That was my downfall. I have been filling the cases for the past 10 years.

I keep them in a room where I can enjoy looking at them and wearing whatever the urge is at the moment. It might be a winder from the past or a quartz or a lot of the time a Ball or 992B pocket watch also.

I found a Omega Seamaster DeVille at a garage sale for 75 cents one day and I've been looking ever since for another find like that. That was the carrot for looking at all the garage sales that I can fit in.

I have around 40 old winders of all American makes that are reliable, 1-214 RR Accutron and a Astronaut Mark II. 20-quartz that run fine and around 50 that don't. 17- assorted Dollar watches and around 70 ladies watches.

Needless to say I don't spend much money for them but its a great pastime looking. I'm still looking to find a gold watch. I have a couple ladies that are gold, but no mens.

Its nice to see everyones ideas and I hope this stirs up some more interest in wristwatches. There is such a variety to be had.

Bill Carlson

Posts: 431 | Location: Billings, Montana USA | Registered: February 05, 2007
IHC Member 1418
Railroad Time Inspector
posted