• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

A Classic, Timeless, Vintage Heirloom "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Thank-you for the opportunity to be a part of this community. I have enjoyed this forum for over a year and learned so very much. .

I have been collecting vintage wristwatches for alittle over 2 years now and have a most enjoyable small collection of a few Hamiltons, Elgins, etc. I love these watches and have found them to be most enjoyable, servicable and great fun to wear.

Now for my question: I would like to buy a classic, timeless, heirloom quality watch to wear MOST all the time. This would be a watch to be identified by. A watch that my son would want and cherish as Dad's finest and yet a watch that Dad was most commonly seen in whether it be in a T-shirt or suit, at the ball-game or church. Sure Dad has some old watches but this watch is numero uno, a signature watch. It would have to be durable and reliable yet investment grade vintage for me to enjoy it.

I have been thinking about this for sometime now and have considered so many including a Rolex Submariner #6565, a Brietling Navitimer, an Omega Speedmaster or any 1950's Omega. Perhaps a quality triple date, moon phase. I have even studied some Patek Philippes.

If you could buy just one defining watch, what would you get? I will be most interested in your thoughts here. THANKS!! Russ

Russ Martin

Posts: 5 | Location: Orlando, Florida in the USA | Registered: October 12, 2005
IHC Member 155
Bulova Watchmaker

Picture of Rich Kuhn
posted
Perish the thought of just having one it like Lays potato chips to me I just can’t have one.
Having said that if money was no object it would be a Patek from the 20s or 30s. Being practical I most often wear my stainless steel Omega Seamaster bumper or my Hamilton white gold Tonneau.

Rich Kuhn
IHC Member 155

Posts: 896 | Location: New Jersey in the USA | Registered: December 16, 2002
posted
Russell,