Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

What's the best solvent? "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Jim Robson
posted
I went to the hardware store today to look for a solvent to clean watch parts and jewels but found at least five different products, none of which was benzene. Are ordinary hardware store cleaners acceptable? If so which one? If not, what is your favorite?

Posts: 116 | Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA | Registered: February 07, 2007
IHC Member 376
Watchmaker
Picture of Samie L. Smith
posted
Jim do you like the benzene better than the l&r cleaning solution.. Smile

Posts: 3208 | Location: Monticello, Kentucky U.S.A. | Registered: June 24, 2004
Picture of Jim Robson
posted
Samie, Being a rank newbie, I'm afraid I don't know about l&r. Please elaborate and illucidate.

I used benzene back in my Navy days cleaning teletype machines, Smile(early 60's) and despite horror stories about its carcinogenic nature, lived to tell about it.

Thanks for the reply, Jim

posted
I'm struggling with this also- I've got an ultra sonic cleaning tank.

Most watch and clock cleaning formulas have amonnia or amino acids which cause metalurgical damage to Brass. The wide spread use might be cheap, leaves things much shinnier so the customer can easily see it was cleaned.

The old timers I know which use the older cleaning machines use Naptha which is available at hardware stores.

Stay away from strong carcinogens.

Michael

Posts: 51 | Location: Hurst, Texas USA | Registered: January 14, 2007
posted