Tools
Reply to Post

Kormilton electric wristwatch "Click" to Login or Register 
Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan
posted
In the summer of 1969 I was employed by Pillsbury Canada limited at their flour mill in Calgary Alberta I have attached a picture its the building to the left of all the railway tracks which are part of CPR's Alyth yard. I started out as a warehouseman loading boxcars for $1.30 an hour after two years of playing human forklift I was promoted to position up in the flour mill where I worked as a sifter operator this job paid a little bit better and it gave me an opportunity to learn a new trade as an apprentice Miller. And besides that we got to wear real cool white cotton uniforms instead of coveralls. The job of a sifter operator involved shift work looking after the machinery on the top four floors of this 10-floor building, and as a bonus for a train Nut like me we had great view of the train yard from the upper floors. One of our duties was to load feed car’s with bran and shorts, which are byproducts of milling white flour. To do this I had to go down to the ground floor of the mill and go out onto the front-loading dock and place a spout in a boxcar to blow feed into each end of the car until it was full with 40 tons of bran or shorts.