• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Hamilton Tonneau Dial "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Here's the dial & hands on my Hamilton Tonneau (engraved) white GF. Movement serial number 4,100,000's vintage

Posts: 315 | Location: Los Angeles, California USA | Registered: April 07, 2005
posted
Here are my questions:

Is this an original dial variation? (I've only seen the luminous numbers with skeleton hands).

If this is original & correct for the watch, would dial restoration be in order or would it be better to leave as is?

How do you make a determination to have a dial restored and what factors prompt your decision?

Are Hamiltons better left original?

Thanks!

Barbara

Hamilton WW Expert

Picture of Gary Cole
posted
Barbara

I am fairly new at this, but let me try.

This is a correct dial version, the luminous was a more popular choice and an upgrade ( for a fee )i believe over the black enamel numbers. I like this style, it is a nice change from the luminous numbers

As far as refinishing goes, it is a personal choice. I have one watch where the patina adds to the "look" of this particular watch, in my opinion.

It is located in a thread further down on this page.

That being said i just sent 2 dials out to be redone since they were so bad. If the dial is bad enough, i would have it refinished, each threshold is different. There are some other threads about refinishing which offer some thoughts as well as pics.

I would keep the dial for a while and decide after wearing it a while. You can always have it done down the road.

If I am wrong on the dial info, I am sure some of the experts will chime in and correct the information

Posts: 61 | Location: Sarasota, Florida U.S.A. | Registered: May 30, 2004
IHC Member 155
Bulova Watchmaker

Picture of Rich Kuhn
posted