Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

The Westmoreland Dinky.... "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member

Picture of Jerry King
posted
Here is a photo I ran across recently and thought I would post it for the experts to explain....

What is a Dinky and what was their purpose

Anyone know the answer...? I'm sure our experts do....

Regards,

Jerry

Posts: 2828 | Location: California in the USA | Registered: June 23, 2008
IHC Vice President
Pitfalls Moderator
IHC Life Member
Picture of Edward L. Parsons, Jr.
posted
Well, I'm no historical expert, but I know something about the history of the coal and coke industry of Western Pennsylvania, which is also where I live, and most importantly, I know how to Google. Big Grin

In Fayette, Westmoreland & Somerset Counties there were numerous beehive-type coke works that were built in the late 1800's to take advantage of abundant deposits of high-grade coking coal that lay very close to the surface. The dinky steam engines were used to move coke and coal short distances in and around the coke works. Major lines such as the PRR, B&O and C&O hauled the coke to the steel mills.

I found another example from the Hannastown, PA coke works (also in Westmoreland County).

The Beehive Coking industry reached its peak from the WW1 era thru the 1920's, and then the Great Depression, exhaustion of the coal deposits, and finally air pollution laws ran it into the ground after a final surge of activity during WW2.

The Dinky Engine that served the coke works at Hannastown, PA

Posts: 6696 | Location: Southwestern Pennsylvania, USA | Registered: April 19, 2004
IHC Life Member

Picture of Jerry King
posted
Thanks, Ed, I didn't think of Google and had I known what they were used for I probably could have figured it out....

My wife lived and grew up in PA, in Monongahela near Pittsburg and there was coal mining all around her as well....

Thanks for the input....

Regards,

Jerry

IHC Vice President
Pitfalls Moderator