Tools
Reply to Post

Spring of 1975 "Click" to Login or Register 
Railway Historian
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator
Picture of Larry Buchan
posted
On Thursday April 10th 1975 I was called for our regular time of 08:15 on the Zone 3 Way freight, this was my last week working this assignment with the regular crew Conductor Fred Foulston, Tail end Brakeman Jim McKinnon, and Locomotive Engineer Stan McPhedran. I had been working this assignment since February 1974 the first three months as tail end Brakeman, and the rest of the time on the head end working with the Locomotive Engineer. My duties as head end Brakeman required me to report To the General Yard Office at Alyth pickup my portable radio and go to the Alyth Diesel shop to take our power (locomotive's) I would do a radio test to make sure we were communicating okay. And then go to the head end of our train in Victor yard tie on to the train release the hand brakes and work my way back to the caboose where I would find the tail end Brakeman Jim McKinnon. Jim was there attending to his duties which included putting out the tail end markers on our caboose CP 434169, and making a pot of coffee, of which I poured a cup of. After visiting with him I would work my way back to the head end of our train and wait for the Conductor to bring us our train orders and work lists.