• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Seth Thomas 48R movement "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I cleaned and re-oiled an old mantle clock using a Seth Thomas 48R movement. It seemed to be running strong and accurate until just before 1:00. At that time the clock would stop. Pushing the minute hand forward met with quite a bit of resistance, but once the resistance stopped (at about 10 min. after the hour), the clock would run fine until it reached just before 1:00 hour.
Funny thing, but when I manually move the minute hand right up to 1:00, the gong would strike twice.
Everything looks to be in order. I'm new at this and quite perplexed. Any ideas? Thanks.

Posts: 4 | Location: Orange, Massachusetts | Registered: October 21, 2009
posted
GREETINGS JOHN, YOU MUST REMEMBER THAT WHEN YOU MOVE THE MINUTE HAND MANUALLY ANY RESESTANCE YOU FEEL IS FROM THE CLUTCH AND NOT THE TRAIN, IT SEEMS YOU MAY HAVE A LEVER PROBLEM, THE LEVERS THAT BRING THE STRIKE TRAIN TO WARNING HAVE TO WORK FREELY, IS THE HOUR HAND PUSHED AWAY FROM THE BACKSIDE OF THE MINUTE HAND? ALSO DOES IT ONLY HAPPEN AT 1:00? EDDIE

Posts: 140 | Location: St. Paul, Minnesota in the USA | Registered: June 11, 2008
posted
Hello Eddie, The hour hand is not touching the minute hand at any time. The ONLY time the clock stops is just before the 1:00 strike. I thought about the lever problem, but if that were the case, wouldn't the movement stop at every hour when the lever is at the same position? I must be overlooking something!

posted