Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

lubrication question Re: the pallet fork "Click" to Login or Register 
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
hi everybody, Todd the beginner here.
i'm starting to worry that i may be a pain in the rear to all the masters with all my questions, but here is another one.
i cleaned and reassembled a 1929 elgin size 10.
it is running but, slow, even with the regulator at max. doing due diligence before bothering all of you i have read that perhaps i should not have oiled the pallet fork jewels as this can cause lag and as a result, a slow running watch. is this correct?
thank you to all
Todd

dalarry

Posts: 290 | Location: Montreal in Canada | Registered: January 11, 2015
posted
Todd there are so many things that could cause your current issue. You can pull the balance and check the snap of the pallet back and forth to the banking pins to see if power is making it down the train. The pallet should snap from pin to pin with a small nudge.If power seems to be there check hairspring and make sure it is in between the regulator pins. Hairspring level? How is the rotation of the balance wheel?

Rob
www.pocketwatchrepairs.net

Posts: 580 | Location: Kingsport, Tennessee in the USA | Registered: November 26, 2002
Picture of Todd Verriere
posted
hi Rob,
thank you for your response.
the pallet snaps back and forth nice and clean.
my impulse jewel is in beat (hard job)
balance wheel rotation seems ok, about 180.
i don't understand what you mean by hairspring level. (clean & flat?) keep in mind i am a total beginner.
thanks again
Todd

dalarry

posted
Todd,