Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Basic Cleaning Machine Questions "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi All!
Name is Jason here and I’m very new at this (right around 6 months now). I’m to the point where I can assemble and disassemble a 16s or 18s American pocket watch with not too much trouble or bad language. Now I think I am ready to start cleaning and getting some of these old junkers running. Only problem is I don’t have a cleaning machine. I am fairly sure that I can’t afford some of the higher end machines. Here is my question. What is out there in terms of a cleaning machine either ultrasonic or mechanical for around $200? And also how do you dry your parts? Someone in another forum told me he uses a GemPro ultrasonic to clean and a hair dryer to dry. I just don’t know. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Guys!

Posts: 4 | Location: Holly Springs, North Carolina USA | Registered: March 28, 2008
IHC Life Member
Certified Watchmaker
Picture of Chris Abell
posted
Hi Jason,

Basically for $200 or under you will get a rotary type machine with a 3 or 4 jar system + dryer stage. This is used with correct cleaners (L&R) will do a good job. The cleaning solution are not cheap ($40 per gallon) but are designed specifically for this purpose, don’t be tempted to start inventing your own solutions at the is stage. There are many tips about cleaning and oils etc to be found on this section of the site.

Posts: 2625 | Location: Northeast Texas in the USA | Registered: November 20, 2003
posted
Thank you so much for responding Chris. By the way your website and subsequent work on it are impeccable.