• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

is there a right way and a wrong way ? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I got brave today and did something i have not done before, .I removed the balance wheel from the cock.I know most people this is ordinary stuff, but i am new at this.I was wondering since it had a srewed down jewel on top, could i have just removed the jewel and cleaned and oiled it or better and maybe easier to just loosen stud screw , remove wheel and clean and oil and reasemble.I laid the balance up side down and lined up the stud and put it into the hole on the cock and tightened it.Also i was wondering would this screw have to be fairly snug to prevent any bumps from jaring it loose?
Sorry i am long winded. Razz Razz Razz Razz

IHC Member 261
Chapter 111,Ottawa
NAWCC Member 158976,
Nepean, Canada

Picture of Kenny Drafts
posted
veritas,
I always remove the wheel before cleanng the balance cock.
You`re lucky if you had no trouble reinserting and tightening the stud. Some are hard to line up and keep in place until you can begin to tighten the screw. I`ve found that by using a small white or light colored card of stiff paper inserted between the stud and outer coil (under the stud) I can better insert the stud and hold it. The light background makes the stud easier to see and with a little positioning I can place the stud opening over and onto the stud. The stud can be held in with the card while tightening.
I tighten the screw snug like you would a plate or balance cock screw.
Hope this helps.

Smile

Kenny

Posts: 359 | Location: Lexington, South Carolina USA | Registered: July 28, 2003
IHC Life Member
Picture of John D. Duvall
posted
Kevin,

Were you thinking about removing the cap jewel only from the balance cock? This would be hard to do without prying around it and damaging the cap jewel setting. Even if you were able to access the upper hole jewel in this way, what are you going to do about the lower hole jewel?