• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Questions on L&R cleaning machine use "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I just purchased an L&R cleaning machine and I have some questions on how to use it properly. I am a newbie who has never taken apart and cleaned a watch before, however I have bought all of the correct tools and have read anough so that I feel confident enough to try this. I am going to attempt to clean and oil an old 16 size 15j Elgin that I picked up very inexpensively on ebay. Here are my questions:

1. Besides the case, dial, hands, and mainspring, are there any other parts of the watch that you do not put in the L&R machine? What about the hairspring?

2. The Henry Fried book seems to indicate that the balance and hairspring assembly can be left together while cleaning. Did I interpret this correctly?

3. The movement that I am cleaning has screw down jewel settings. In my reading, some have suggested to completely remove these jewels from the bridge plates during cleaning. Is this necessary? I can understand why you want to remove the cap jewels, but why would you want to remove the hole jewels? Wouldn't the holes in the jewels clean just as well if they were still attached to the plates?

4. Do I need to be concerned about plates/parts bumping in to each other during the cleaning process? I have a three-piece basket and I can see where you would put the smaller more delicate parts into the small indented chambers, but what about the rest of the larger parts that spin around together in the large bottom basket? Can these parts bang around and damage each other?

Posts: 16 | Location: Hills of Eastern Connecticut | Registered: August 27, 2005
Picture of Grant Perry
posted
Hi Tony:
Belated welcome to 185. Not sue how much I can offer, but here goes... You will likely get better responses from others with more experience. When I clean a movement.