• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

One Dip vs New Dip. Are they the same? "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
I ordered a bottle of One Dip from Twin City Supply but they sent me a can of New Dip instead. When I called to complain that they had substituted another product without asking me, they said that it was the exact same product from the same company (they just changed the name and the packaging). They sounded sincere, but as a newbie I don't know if that is true or BS? Are they the same?

Posts: 16 | Location: Hills of Eastern Connecticut | Registered: August 27, 2005
IHC Life Member
RR Watch Expert
Picture of Ed Ueberall
posted
Tony,
I don't know the answer to your question, but if you want to know for sure, request MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) for both products. The MSDS will give you the exact ingredients and formulation, as well as all saftey precautions (if any) that need to be observed in the storage, transportation or use of the product. If the two MSDS are the same (except for the product name), the products are identical.

Ed Ueberall
IHC Member 34
The Escapement

Posts: 620 | Location: Pooler, Georgia in the U.S.A. | Registered: November 23, 2002
posted
I recently bought out a bunch of stuff from a retired watchmaker, and there was a very tall bottle labeled TRICHLOROETHYLENE that he bought from a pharmacy and used for hair springs.

Funny thing - it smells just like One Dip (and Dip Once, and without a doubt New Dip). And, according to the watchmaker, it was a whole lot less expensive.

In any event I won't have to buy any for a while Big Grin

Posts: 72 | Location: Mechanicsburg, Ohio U.S.A. | Registered: July 18, 2004
posted