Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

BW Raymond question "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Watchmaker
Picture of Scott Cerullo
posted
I have a 1919 B.W. Rayomond 19 jewel pocket watch and have a question about its regulator. It is adjusted as far as it will go towards the F, but it loses one minute per hour. Is this a problem with the balance wheel, hairspring,...? I would think that the fix for this is beyond a good cleaning and adjustment due to the position of the regulator. I am a novice collector, just acquired this watch, and would appreciate any and all advice.

Posts: 1033 | Location: Northeast Pennsylvania in the USA | Registered: June 02, 2003
posted
Scott,

Do you know when the watch was last serviced and by whom?
Is the loss rate consistant or does it loose less time when fully wound then when the mainspring is run down?
How does the hairspring look? Is it corroded at all? How is the ballance motion?

I have found that with a good cleaning sometimes a loss rate such as that will be corrected.

More details please.

Aaron Bereiter
NAWCC# 156432
Chapter 185 Charter 23
Chapter 185 Finance VP
God Bless America

Posts: 945 | Location: Geneva, Illinois in the U.S.A. | Registered: November 19, 2002
IHC Life Member
Watchmaker
Picture of Scott Cerullo
posted
Aaron,
Here is the story on the watch. I got it on ebay from Hess Fine Art. Their description states that the movement "runs strong and keeps good time." I don't think they serviced it. The hairspring appears to have no corrosion on it(without the aid of a loupe). The balance motion looks good and constant. The watch loses time with the mainspring fully wound, and loses it consistantly. It may need a good cleaning. Should it cause concern that this watch's regulator is adjusted as far as it will go? I get the feeling that it's not a good sign.

Posts: 1033 | Location: Northeast Pennsylvania in the USA | Registered: June 02, 2003
posted
Scott,